Houlding's supporters followed him in resigning from membership of Everton F.C. In March 1892 the Everton directors set up a sub-committee consisting of Dr. James Baxter, A. T. Coates, and Frank Currier to deal with these resignations. William Barclay, one of Houlding's staunchest supporters had already resigned as Chairman of Everton in January and had been replaced by George Mahon.
George Mahon (1853-1905)